Weapons Offenses

New Jersey is one the one worst states in the nation when it comes being charged with a weapons offense. Over the past several years, the state legislature has made it even worse by upgrading offenses and increasing mandatory penalties. Even a BB gun is a "firearm" in New Jersey. It'll shoot your eye out and get you a state prison sentence.

Most firearm charges are subject to enhanced sentencing pursuant to the "Graves Act". All handgun charges are now second degree crimes that carry a statutory presumption of a state prison sentence.

The unlawful possession of a handgun carries statutory presumption of a 5 to 10 year state prison sentence with a mandatory period of parole ineligibility from 3 to 5 years. That is just for the possession of the handgun.

Possession of any firearm for an unlawful purpose, and Possession of any firearm by a convicted person, are both additional second degree charges. The latter charge includes a 5 year minimum period of parole ineligibility.

If you have been charged with a weapons offense, you need a lawyer who understands the technical requirements of our gun laws. You need a criminal defense lawyer who knows the exceptions and exclusions from those laws. You need a lawyer with the knowledge and ability to obtain permissible reductions and waivers from the mandatory sentences outlined above.

Mr. Pintaro has the knowledge and proven ability to provide you with the best possible outcome when charged with a weapons offense. Arrange a meeting today to discuss your options.